Pilvax Hotel**superior Kalocsa
Fine contemporary elegance with the inherited valuesThe greatest architectural value of the building under monumental protection is the classical façade harmonizing with a historical setting of the street it is facing. Preserving the exterior and interior sections of the original building, the building evokes the mood of 1800’s. Due to its excellent location, the historical, architectural, cultural, artistic and folk art attractions of the historic city center are just a few minutes' walk away. The subtle elegance, the harmonious color, the spacious interior spaces give it a unique, unmatched atmosphere. The hotel offers a perfect relaxation both for visitors seeking tranquility or business travelers.
Our hotel has 15 comfortable rooms overlooking the inner courtyard with separate bathrooms ensuring perfect comfort. The furnishings and equipment represents a high quality of the hotel: the elegant, modern style is combined with the concept of comfort and coziness. Our classic, standard and superior rooms are individually air-conditioned, equipped with Full HD Smart TV and Wi-Fi access. For our disabled guests, we have established rooms on the ground floor with ease of access, and our interconnecting rooms provide comfortable accommodation for families.
Get to know the story of Pilvax house!
The house in classicist style was built around 1820 and was owned by the Szabó family in the 19th century. József Szabó, who lived in the house during the time of the War of Independence and enjoyed the confidence of Kossuth, supervised the saltpetre supply. With other renowned inhabitants of Kalocsa, he often visited the city of Pest and the acclaimed Cafe Pilvax. Several people living in the building belonged to the regular guests of the Pilvax in Pest, which was known as a spiritual and political community in the 1848 War of Independence. He was especially close to Gábor Klauzál, who died in this building and his memory is preserved by a memorial plaque on the wall of the house, which was inaugurated on August 3, 1996.